Illinois Congressional Districts in 1858

Lincoln and Douglas debated [see Debates of 1858] in 7 cities, one in each of the 7 congressional districts in the state of Illinois. These sites are marked on the map below with white or black dots.

Note that county boundaries shown are current county boundaries, not those of 1858. In most cases, these boundaries are the same. Map is an adaptation from The Era of the Civil War, 1848-1870, vol. III of "The Centennial History of Illinois" by Arthur C. Cole, 1919, published by the Illinois Centennial Commisssion, Springfield, IL.

| Illinois History Pages | Infobahn Outfitters Home Page |

Didn't find what you wanted? Check our Illinois Links.

Copyright © 1995-2023 Infobahn Outfitters, Inc., All rights reserved.